Workers injured in on the job accidents in Pennsylvania or New Jersey should know that time is not on their side. Failure to exercise legal rights within applicable time limits and deadlines can result in major financial losses including workers’ comp benefits and compensation via a work accident lawsuit. This is true regardless of the severity of the injuries. The same time limits apply to a worker who suffers a broken toe and a worker who suffers a broken back.
The info provided below is intended as a general guideline. Because of complex laws and exceptions to those laws, the timelines discussed below may not apply to specific cases. Get a FREE consultation with one of our work injury lawyers about your case. 215.399.9255 or 609.223.8900
Time Limits for Workers’ Comp Claims in Pennsylvania & New Jersey
Both Pennsylvania and New Jersey workers’ comp laws impose time limits on filing claims for workers’ comp benefits. Pennsylvania law gives injured workers 3 years and New Jersey gives 2 years from the date of injury or the last date a workers’ comp payment was made.
However, these deadlines are different than the initial notice requirement. Injured workers in both states are required to notify their employers about a work injury. The notice requirement is mandatory, and failure to provide notice within the time limits may bar a claim altogether. Injured workers get 14 days in NJ and 21 days in PA; although in PA, there’s a subsequent 120 day notice deadline (failure to provide notice within the 120 days will bar a claim).
Time Limits for Filing Work Injury Lawsuits
In addition to filing a workers’ comp claim, injured workers in Pennsylvania and New Jersey may be able to seek financial compensation by filing a work accident lawsuit. This is a fact most injured workers don’t know or learn about when it’s too late, i.e., the applicable time limits have already passed.
Pennsylvania and New Jersey laws impose a 2 year deadline on personal injury lawsuits, including work accident lawsuits. The 2 year time clock starts ticking on the date of the accident. There are a few exceptions to the 2 year rule, but 99% of the time, they don’t apply to work accident cases.
These types of lawsuits may be filed against non-employer parties such as:
- property owners,
- maintenance companies, and/or
- equipment manufacturers/sellers.
In addition, work accident lawsuits are often filed (and successful) across all types of industries. From an injured construction worker to an injured office worker, compensation is available for medical bills, lost wages and pain and suffering.
Pennsylvania & New Jersey Work Injury Law Firm
We’ve recovered over $200 million for our clients and are rated as top injury lawyers. Contact us to discuss your case.
**This website does not provide legal advice. Every case is unique and it is crucial to get a qualified, expert legal opinion prior to making any decisions about your case. See the full disclaimer at the bottom of this page.